The standby switch squeal

Get support and show off your MetroAmp JTM 45 kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

User avatar
VelvetGeorge
Site Owner
Posts: 7216
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 5:12 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492
Location: The Murder Mitten
Contact:

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by VelvetGeorge » Fri Mar 13, 2009 5:59 pm

Thanks RR! I have pretty much decided that the issue is the Chinese KT66's. I had the same results as you, my GEC's never squeal. Nor do 6L6's put in just to test the theory.

The 5.6k grid resistor fix has worked for everyone, to my knowledge. And the next update to the instructions will add these as standard. With a little explanation.

George

BTW here is the wiki page: http://metroamp.com/wiki/index.php/Outp ... _resistors" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Check out Plexi Replicas for my personal amp builds...
Image

User avatar
Roadrunner
Senior Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:11 am
Location: NashVegas Baby!

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by Roadrunner » Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:24 pm

VelvetGeorge wrote:Thanks RR! I have pretty much decided that the issue is the Chinese KT66's. I had the same results as you, my GEC's never squeal. Nor do 6L6's put in just to test the theory.

The 5.6k grid resistor fix has worked for everyone, to my knowledge. And the next update to the instructions will add these as standard. With a little explanation.

George

BTW here is the wiki page: http://metroamp.com/wiki/index.php/Outp ... _resistors" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


You bet George!

I put the 5.6k's in there and viola! ... quiet as a mouse in regards to the standby switch. That's a good idea to just include these resistors as "from the get go" items.

I've logged at least 6 hours on this amp today, it sounds FANTASTIC! Everybody should have one of these amps... I gotta get one!
Achieve the Possible!

User avatar
zrAC/DC
Senior Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:03 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Waterloo, NY

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by zrAC/DC » Sun Apr 12, 2009 3:42 pm

I installed the 5.6k resistors on mine and it worked for a short while. It took away the squeal from the standby switch, but the hotter the amp got, it started to cut out. Then out of nowhere there was no sound until the next day, then I played again the amp got that dirty pot turning static, then it just cut out. I took out the resistors and it worked fine ever since. Is there any modern production KT66's that don't squeal?
~~Current Amps~~
1.) JTM45


--------Terawatt--------
http://www.reverbnation.com/terawatt" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.myspace.com/terawatts" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

DRJUSTIN
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:57 am
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by DRJUSTIN » Fri Jan 01, 2010 11:19 am

Thought I would throw this in...

I just finished my build a few days ago and have had a few intermittent problems including standby switch squeal, so today I go up to try and sort it out with the intention of installing the 5.6 resistor.

I was also having some issues with strange noises and ugly distortion at higher levels so I first changed out V1 with an old RCA 7025 and then a Russian Tung Sol 12AX7. That fixed the problem, so I just went ahead and changed out all the preamp tubes and put in the Tung Sols since I already had them.

Next I thought I would try out a pair of JJ KT66's in place of the Valve Art and that fixed the standby switch problem! So the resistor might have worked but I think the real problem was the tubes.

That being said I put the old VA tubes in my THD Bivalve, which in addition to being a great amp is the perfect tube tester since it requires no biasing. They worked fine in that amp, so it must be something with how the VA interact with the JTM circuit.

Hope this helps someone!

Jsinca
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:04 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by Jsinca » Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:57 pm

FYI

My amp played fine for almost a year before the squeal started.
It started as a clicking sound (blocking distortion?) that grew louder with time, then eventually it became a squeal.
So apparently as the tubes got older they started to break down. The weird thing is, a new set of Tubes also squealed.
An 820 resistor fixed the problem.

I use VA Kt66 tubes.

sfo_pete
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:48 pm

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by sfo_pete » Mon Oct 21, 2013 3:56 pm

5.6K did the trick, added with Zero Loss Effects Loop, fantastic!

Tone_Chaser
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 2:55 am

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by Tone_Chaser » Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:46 am

I just completed my JTM45, put the KT66 tubes in and flipped the standby on and got the same issue as mentioned here. I need to pick up the 5.6K resistors. I may already have some 1/2W resistors but haven't checked yet. Would those be okay or do I need a different size?
Barry

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonechaser/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://swiftkik.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://lyin-eyes.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Roe
Senior Member
Posts: 5018
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:36 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Drontheim. Norwegen
Contact:

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by Roe » Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:50 am

0.5w is more than sufficient. A 100k-470k power resistor across the standby switch also helps with the squeal
http://www.myspace.com/20bonesband" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.myspace.com/prostitutes" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Super 100 amps: 1202-119 & 1202-84
JTM45 RS OT JTM50 JMP50 1959/2203/34/39

Tone_Chaser
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 2:55 am

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by Tone_Chaser » Tue Sep 30, 2014 9:44 pm

Thanks. I didn't really have a squeal. Just the motor boating, although I didn't leave it on very long! If the resistors don't cut it I'll add the power resistor too.
Barry

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonechaser/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://swiftkik.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://lyin-eyes.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Tone_Chaser
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 2:55 am

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by Tone_Chaser » Mon Oct 06, 2014 3:40 pm

I was able to install the resistors over the weekend and it made no difference at all. I'm going to go through all of the wiring first and if I don't see any issues, I may upload some pictures to see if your eagle eyes can spot anything. I think it may be a grounding issue. I didn't exactly stick to the star grounding scheme so that may be the issue.
Barry

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonechaser/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://swiftkik.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://lyin-eyes.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
neikeel
Senior Member
Posts: 7063
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:31 am
Location: Suffolk, England

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by neikeel » Mon Oct 06, 2014 4:12 pm

Tone_Chaser wrote:I was able to install the resistors over the weekend and it made no difference at all. I'm going to go through all of the wiring first and if I don't see any issues, I may upload some pictures to see if your eagle eyes can spot anything. I think it may be a grounding issue. I didn't exactly stick to the star grounding scheme so that may be the issue.
Are the primaries reversed? (more of an issue on 100w but.............)
Neil

Tone_Chaser
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 2:55 am

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by Tone_Chaser » Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:27 pm

I'm using the Classic Tone 40-18033. The Red wires go to the Rectifier tube and the Common and 120V wires go to the Mains fuse Power Switch.

I think I'll open a new thread that shows the build and gets to where I am now. I've started going through the amp and everything looks good so far. I may try the second output jack and see if maybe there is a grounding issue with that one jack.
Barry

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tonechaser/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://swiftkik.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://lyin-eyes.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
neikeel
Senior Member
Posts: 7063
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:31 am
Location: Suffolk, England

Re: The standby switch squeal

Post by neikeel » Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:20 am

Tone_Chaser wrote:I'm using the Classic Tone 40-18033. The Red wires go to the Rectifier tube and the Common and 120V wires go to the Mains fuse Power Switch.

I think I'll open a new thread that shows the build and gets to where I am now. I've started going through the amp and everything looks good so far. I may try the second output jack and see if maybe there is a grounding issue with that one jack.
I meant on the OT........................... :wink:
Neil

Post Reply