Tightening up the bottom end of the JTM45? (New Member!)

Get support and show off your MetroAmp JTM 45 kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

Jazzydave

Tightening up the bottom end of the JTM45? (New Member!)

Post by Jazzydave » Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:48 am

Hey all! I'm new to the board and am going to take on a *first time* build here soon. I was a satellite tech in the Air Force so I'm hoping it'll go smoothly. Just follow directions, ask questions, and take it slow, right? :wink:

I was in Guitar Center the other day (I know, I know but...) and they had one of the Marshall JTM45 Reissues. I'd only played through the JCM series amps and many people have suggested the 45 to me so I thought I'd check it out. I grabbed a Gibby R0 (I play a slightly modded R7) and went at it. When I got that amp around 5-6 I couldn't stop. I was so impressed with the warmth and vibe of it that I ended up sitting there until someone finally broke my trance. THAT doesn't happen very often, especially with amps.

My only issue with it was how muddy it got in the low end. Now, keep in mind that I roll my highs back quite a bit. My usual amp setting are around B-5/6, M-3/4, T-4/5 and I roll my tone knob back slightly on my LP. That creamy yet articulate sound is what I go for and this amp seemed to nail it other than some mud there in the bottom.

After talking to another builder on here, he suggested the 45/100 and I even thought about going with the 50W Plexi bass (looks like I'd actually build the Lead first and then swap the necessary components to the Bass side after reading on here). I love that early Duane Allman tone and after doing some research and reading an interview from his tech, his reasons for using the Plexi Bass are similar to mine.

What do you all think? I don't think I need the 100w but I'm new to the Marshall world! So, any suggestions would greatly help.

Can I build the 45 and mod it somehow to be little tighter?