Metro JTM 45 build Start up questions

Get support and show off your MetroAmp JTM 45 kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

kadswan

Metro JTM 45 build Start up questions

Post by kadswan » Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:10 pm

Hello,
I'm Ken Swanson, and I am new to the Metro forum, but have been a long time lurker and admirer of these wonderful amps. I just finished my metro build, and I am getting some very high readings on V1, V2 and V3. I'm a bit leary about putting in the power tubes and firing it up before I get some advise on the high voltage readings. I've gone through the first two steps of fire up. Everything checked out normal when I put the rectifier tube in, but when I put the preamp tubes in, and took it off of standby, my voltage readings were as follows.
V1 pin 1---240v
pin 3---1.8v
pin 6---238v
pin 8---1.8v
V2 pin 1---196v
pin 3---1.3v
pin 6---354v
pin 8---197v
V3 pin 1---267v
pin 3---49v
pin 6---257v
pin 8---49.4v
I know that some of the readings are within range, but the high ones are well over 10% higher. I am using a Classic tone #40-1804 power transformer, and a classic tone choke. The output transformer is a Chris M-----. Do these look like I should proceed, or do I need to do some trouble shooting first? Any help would be greatly appreciated. And I will post pics as soon as I figure out how to. Thanks in advance

kadswan

Re: Metro JTM 45 build Start up questions

Post by kadswan » Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:11 pm

Quick follow up. I went ahead and installed the power tubes. When I take it off of standby, I get an extremely loud buzz or hum, along with a motor boating, and then it blew the HT fuse before I could turn it off. I will get pics posted tomorrow. I'm really chasing my tail here.

danman
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Post by danman » Thu Jun 04, 2015 5:12 pm