Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

For all things to build the brown sound

Moderators: VelvetGeorge, RACKSYSTEMS

User avatar
plexified
Senior Member
Posts: 846
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 12:49 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492
Location: amidst the wreckage of a hot Plexi

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by plexified » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:19 pm

fwiw , I ran the jose master flavors into a stock 12000 series and a 69 100 metal panel .

the 12er had no improvement .

the 69 was very usefull due to the volume disparity with the12er . no tone upgrade. my .02$

User avatar
briango
Senior Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 11:34 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Oregon

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by briango » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:31 pm

I had the Jose Master for a while and then I tried it and a second master together for while, but finally I just settled on a regular 2203/4 type master. For the tones I'm looking for it seems to work the best for me.

User avatar
vanhalen5150
Senior Member
Posts: 7307
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:13 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Halifax, Canada

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by vanhalen5150 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 6:50 pm

Why is this called the " Jose Master"? Just wondering.
12000 Metro Kit

User avatar
Good Guest
Senior Member
Posts: 2030
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:29 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by Good Guest » Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:04 pm

vanhalen5150 wrote:Why is this called the " Jose Master"? Just wondering.
Because of the infamous Jose schematic of a 2203 that was heavily modded by Jose....

Thing that's intersting especially after all the input regarding bounding and the use of zeners to limit the signal strength is that in the schematic with the jose master there is a switch for another master (typical) and a slave line out.....to me it looks like the Jose master isn't used for creating clipping but for the bounding effect when using the marshall preamp for slaving or a line out and maybe even an effects send. Saying that because it seems to be taking advantage of the pre tone stack buffering.

Remember the forumite that did the ATBL clip that was so close it was mesmerizing and actually had some questioning it's authenticity?...He mentioned his effects loop was installed pre tone stack...in his plexi and the results were pretty remarkable.

User avatar
axeman
Senior Member
Posts: 2412
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:21 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by axeman » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:50 am

Good Guest wrote:
vanhalen5150 wrote:Why is this called the " Jose Master"? Just wondering.
Because of the infamous Jose schematic of a 2203 that was heavily modded by Jose....

Thing that's intersting especially after all the input regarding bounding and the use of zeners to limit the signal strength is that in the schematic with the jose master there is a switch for another master (typical) and a slave line out.....to me it looks like the Jose master isn't used for creating clipping but for the bounding effect when using the marshall preamp for slaving or a line out and maybe even an effects send. Saying that because it seems to be taking advantage of the pre tone stack buffering.

Remember the forumite that did the ATBL clip that was so close it was mesmerizing and actually had some questioning it's authenticity?...He mentioned his effects loop was installed pre tone stack...in his plexi and the results were pretty remarkable.
:scratch:

frusciante89
Senior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:58 am
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by frusciante89 » Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:26 pm

Hi guys, I have a 1987 with a LarMar mod: can I add the Jose mod as well?

vh junkie
Senior Member
Posts: 1288
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:07 pm

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by vh junkie » Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:45 pm

Sure... I have done this and it can work very well... just put the master in without the diodes and balance the two starting at about seven on each...
"With all due respect, sir, you're beginning to bore the hell out of me."
- Gunny Highway

frusciante89
Senior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:58 am
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by frusciante89 » Sun Sep 27, 2015 8:52 am

vh junkie wrote:Sure... I have done this and it can work very well... just put the master in without the diodes and balance the two starting at about seven on each...
Thnaks for the reply :) just wondering: why should I remove the diodes from the mod?

vh junkie
Senior Member
Posts: 1288
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:07 pm

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by vh junkie » Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:55 pm

You can use the diodes, but I would make them switchable to get them out of the circuit if needed. They tend to lower the volume, but add some distortion when they are in play. This is good for practicing at bedroom volumes, but something you might not want otherwise. I would also make the whole jose master such that it could be eliminated with switch.
"With all due respect, sir, you're beginning to bore the hell out of me."
- Gunny Highway

frusciante89
Senior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:58 am
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by frusciante89 » Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:07 am

So, I decided to draw a schematic that implements a switch to turn the Jose mod on and off, and a push pull pot to take the diodes out of the circuit.. Hope this will help future people who want this mod!
Can someone plese confirm it? Hope I hooked up everything correctly, kind of rusty on my electronics :)
Andrea


Image

vh junkie
Senior Member
Posts: 1288
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:07 pm

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by vh junkie » Wed Sep 30, 2015 12:50 pm

You do not need the 100k if it is already on the board. Cameron recommended moving it off the board, and grounding it right the socket though.
Anyway, with other corrections, you should do it like this:
EDIT: 100k resistor shown moved off the board
jose3.jpg
jose3.jpg (147.85 KiB) Viewed 751 times
Last edited by vh junkie on Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
"With all due respect, sir, you're beginning to bore the hell out of me."
- Gunny Highway

gepposound
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:51 am
Just the numbers in order: 13492
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by gepposound » Thu Oct 01, 2015 4:25 am


frusciante89
Senior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:58 am
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by frusciante89 » Thu Oct 01, 2015 4:53 am

vh junkie wrote:You do not need the 100k if it is already on the board. Cameron recommended moving it off the board, and grounding it right the socket though.
Anyway, with other corrections, you should do it like this:
jose2.jpg
Thanks vhjunkie for your help :)
now, next question: I don't really want to drill extra holes in my amp, nor I want to use the jack inputs to create a Frankestein... My idea was to allocate the mod (push-pull pot + switch on/off) in an external box and connect it to the amp circuit through one of the speaker holes, properly modified. Is it possibile? what's the best way to preserve the tone with this extra piece of cable?
Thanks again... Hope this helps everyone! :)

User avatar
ezs
Senior Member
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:37 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Seattle

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by ezs » Sat Oct 03, 2015 12:27 pm

Don't think either of those will work without a way to separate the 100k from the TS on the board when mods engaged.

vh junkie
Senior Member
Posts: 1288
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:07 pm

Re: Mark Cameron Jose master volume schematic??

Post by vh junkie » Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:57 am

Good call! I updated the drawing to show the 100k moved off the board.
ezs wrote:Don't think either of those will work without a way to separate the 100k from the TS on the board when mods engaged.
"With all due respect, sir, you're beginning to bore the hell out of me."
- Gunny Highway

Post Reply