Floppy Strings....

There's more to life than just amps?

Moderators: VelvetGeorge, BUG

The Alien
Just the numbers in order: 7

Floppy Strings....

Post by The Alien » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:00 pm

I'm having a bit of an issue with my lowest 3 strings but especially the low E, they feel too floppy in standard tuning.
At first i taught this was because of the "extra floppy" ernie ball slinkies but my guitar has a flipped headstock, could this be the cause of the floppyness? (they are rock N' roll regular slinkies).

I was thinking of buying dunlop heavy cores heavy strings (10's) but i have no experience with these,are they any good?
(I read they have the tension of 11's)
Maybe i should buy a light top heavy bottom set to offset the flipped headstock, but i heard that these twist the neck of your guitar over time.

I want to get higher tension on the bottom strings but i don't want to mess with the truss rod too much....(it's quite a fragile el cheapo ibanez neck)
:oops:
I was also reading up on custom gauge strings and the people swore that they were miles beyond regular sets in "feel"?

So could you guys give me some advice or share solutions to fix the floppynes.... :roll:
"I don't give a fuck if you boo, as long as you boo in key..." J.M.Hendrix

The Alien

Re: Floppy Strings....

Post by The Alien » Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:52 am

(i think i might have posted this wrong so sorry)
This problem is worst on the low E string but i can't intonate this string properly,i moved the saddle 0.5cm from its original position and nothing seems to change. (the fretted not fluctuates alot on the tuner)

JimiJames
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Post by JimiJames » Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:00 am

The Alien wrote:(i think i might have posted this wrong so sorry)
All good.This is a shadow link to your initial Post.
You posted correctly in the General Beginner's Questions as the subtitle suggest. :thumbsup:

The Alien

Post by The Alien » Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:24 pm