Starting a new 50-watt project...

Get support and show off your MetroAmp 50 Watt kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

reswot
Just the numbers in order: 7

Starting a new 50-watt project...

Post by reswot » Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:09 pm

It's kind of quiet in this area, so I thought I'd try to start something...

I'm just getting started with a new 50-watt project. With George's kits gone, now, I've had to source parts from various suppliers, but it is kind of fun to go "shopping." I've got all of the parts, now, save for a few small caps, so I've started bolting a few things together. I'll get some pics up soon.

Here is my parts list:

Chassis & Faceplates -- Ceriatone. Chassis is riveted in the corners, rather than welded. It has a few extra holes in it. It has a spot for the voltage selector, so that's going in. Faceplates, of course, have "JMP" on the front, which is a nice touch.

Head box -- Mojo.

PT and OT -- Chris ******. I've heard good things about his iron and thought I'd give it a try. A bit more expensive than Marstran, but Brian was out of stock. PT comes with mounting plate, which, again, is a nice touch.

Choke -- Classic Tone. Good price and quick shipping. Again, Marstran was out of stock.

Board -- Brian H. Nice-looking board, fully perforated.

Mustard caps -- bought from a member here in the classifieds.

Misc. caps -- picked up some Lemco micas and a NOS ceramic 5600pf (bright cap; I may give that value a shot) on eBay.

Using F&T cap cans. I picked those up, as well as the tube sockets, switches, etc., from AES.

I had a bunch of resistors (CC and CF), but picked up what I needed, from Mouser, along with some BC components e-caps and whatever I didn't get from AES.

-----------------------