Swapping Neutral/Live on the Fuse

Get support and show off your MetroAmp 50 Watt kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

Post Reply
redlir
Senior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:33 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Swapping Neutral/Live on the Fuse

Post by redlir » Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:04 am

Hey guys,

I was trying to find some old posts on this, but most seem to have all the pictures removed etc. I want to rewire the power cable so the live wire is between the fuse and the power switch instead of the neutral wire for safety's sake. I did a mock diagram, I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything?

This is the old way in the instructions

Image

This is the proposed change. I changed the wire color for clarity.

Image

User avatar
VelvetGeorge
Site Owner
Posts: 7216
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 5:12 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492
Location: The Murder Mitten
Contact:

Re: Swapping Neutral/Live on the Fuse

Post by VelvetGeorge » Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:12 pm

This is correct, thanks for posting!

Even better would be using a DP/ST power switch to switch both HOT and NEUTRAL.

george
Check out Plexi Replicas for my personal amp builds...
Image

ValveStorm
Supporting Advertiser
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 5:31 am
Just the numbers in order: 7
Contact:

Re: Swapping Neutral/Live on the Fuse

Post by ValveStorm » Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:52 pm

If you want to use a use a DP switch for that purpose, the last switch in the Toggle Switch section here would work, and have the same look as the SPST used for the HT:
http://valvestorm.com/Products/Switches
ValveStorm.comParts, parts parts!

redlir
Senior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:33 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Swapping Neutral/Live on the Fuse

Post by redlir » Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:36 pm

See post below.
Last edited by redlir on Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

redlir
Senior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:33 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Swapping Neutral/Live on the Fuse

Post by redlir » Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:04 pm

VelvetGeorge wrote:This is correct, thanks for posting!

Even better would be using a DP/ST power switch to switch both HOT and NEUTRAL.

george
I redid my diagram. Does this display the pole layouts correctly with a DP/ST switch?

Image

Post Reply