Low Voltages And A Couple Of High Ones?

Get support and show off your MetroAmp 50 Watt kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

Statick
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Low Voltages And A Couple Of High Ones?

Post by Statick » Fri Aug 21, 2015 8:30 am

I've got my 50W Plexi build fired up. It has a slight hum that I haven't started diagnosing because I wanted to check voltages first.
Almost across the board, I've got voltages that are lower than what's in the Metro instructions. I've found a few posts where people had higher than expected voltages, but I haven't seen low voltages as a problem. See the attached table.

I've also got around 20V on the grids of V3 where I think I should have zero.

Almost all the parts came from Valvestorm. The iron is Classic Tone. All readings were taken with tubes in and both switches on. This is not my first amp build, but I'm by no means an expert, so any help is very appreciated.

- Should I be concerned about the low voltages or are they close enough?

- Where would you look first when hunting down the voltage on the grids of the PI?
Attachments
50WPlexi1.gif
50WPlexi1.gif (8.3 KiB) Viewed 3174 times

guitarist1977

Re: Low Voltages And A Couple Of High Ones?

Post by guitarist1977 » Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:34 pm

What ClassicTone transformers have you used?

Those voltages on V3 pins 2 & 7 are normal

Please add photos of your build.

Alex.

Statick

Post by Statick » Fri Aug 21, 2015 3:11 pm

guitarist1977 wrote:What ClassicTone transformers have you used?
PT: 40-18089
OT: 40-18025
Choke: 40-18058
guitarist1977 wrote:Those voltages on V3 pins 2 & 7 are normal
Great! Thanks.
guitarist1977 wrote:Please add photos of your build.
Working on photos now.

It seems like there's something going on with the bias. With the bias pot in the min and max positions, I get these readings:

MIN / MAX
Rectifier + : 360V / 400V
Cathode Current V4 : 4.8mA / 0.0mA
Cathode Current V5 : 5.7mA / 0.0mA