advice on tone

Get support and show off your MetroAmp 50 Watt kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

skeprico
Just the numbers in order: 13492

advice on tone

Post by skeprico » Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:44 pm

Hello there. I just finished my 50 watt build and I have some questions for anyone who would care to indulge me. I powered it up and all went well with testing. Voltages look good. Bias was low, so I swapped out the resistor to get it in range. Now it's at about 37mV. My question is regarding tone. I'll put it out there that I'm a complete newbie to the classic Marshall world. I grew up a metal head and until I got older I had no use for classic tone. If it wasn't a Mesa it was useless to me. Now I'm starting to see what I'd missed all those years. My point being I don't know what I should expect from the amp I've just built. I've always heard that a classic Marshall is to be run with all knobs on 11. When I do that the treble is so piercing that it feels as though my brain is about to fall out of my ears. Also a feedback that is very far from pleasant. I'm using a Les Paul with StewMac Parsons Street humbuckers. The cab is a P.O.S. no name 4x12 with vintage 30s. I started with the exact “Lead Specs” from the Metropoulos instructions. I did some research on the forum here and decided I'd change the bright cap from the original 500pf to a 100pf. Seemed to make it less unruly. Then I changed the .022 cap to .0022 that looks to be after v1 on the normal channel? Per the “70's and up lead spec”. I didn't change any of the other components on the board that the “70's and up lead spec” diagram shows to be different. Looks like the double axial cap is different and one of the 2 watts. Anyway. I did that to remove some of the bass but now the treble is back. Should I swap the other components to the “70's spec”? This is amp sounds gorgeous if I dial in a sound I like. Something other than “all knobs on 11”. I'm just concerned that I've done something wrong. Thanks in advan