FX loops coming to Metro.

Discuss your builds of MetroAmp Kits.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

Post Reply
jmp220478
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:26 am
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by jmp220478 » Tue Jun 28, 2016 2:30 am

Has anyone successfully installed this in a Marshall 2210 ?

If so would love to hear from you ..

If UK based and youre happy to take on the work then please get in touch

Otherwise if elsewhere would appreciate details so I can attempt this myself

cheers for looking

tpruitt
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 7:37 am
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by tpruitt » Tue Jul 12, 2016 7:57 pm

So I have the loop installed. B+ on the board is 295v. Ground is about 3 ohms on board. All looked well and my delays sounded great but,then I hooked up a linear power booster for a lead boost and while turning it on/off there is a very loud "pop".any idea why,and what I can do? I looked and it seems the pedal is a true bypass if that matters.

I should add I'm running the pedal off a battery and cables are good.

Kitarist
Senior Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:53 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by Kitarist » Fri Jul 22, 2016 4:27 am

Is there any schematics for this loop?

tpruitt
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 7:37 am
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by tpruitt » Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:53 am

Is a Reading of 3 ohms on the ground considered high?
What is the voltage from the preamp going into the loop?
Or should I say what's a good ballpark reading.

ledvedder
Senior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:51 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by ledvedder » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:18 pm

Has anyone installed this into a Ceriatone Chupacabra?

tak321
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:02 am
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by tak321 » Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:05 am

Hi!!! have anyone tried this FX loop in a fender Blues JR III?

Brad H
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:02 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by Brad H » Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:04 am

Anyone have a link to a mini-toggle or mini push button switch that will swap for the line/pedal level switch? I want to be able to switch this externally. Can’t believe that’s not an option. :scratch:

shakti
Senior Member
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:06 am
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Ramnes, Norway

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by shakti » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:40 pm

I am going to put this loop into a 69SL build I have.

One question about the shielded cable to use; in the instructions, it appears that the shielded wire is two conductor, but the two conductors are wired together, then two different pieces of wire are used for the input and output from the FX loop. The shield appears to be grounded at the same spot for both wires.

Any particular reason why two conductor wire is used? And couldn't it have been done more easily with a single piece of two conductor wire, one conductor for the input and one for the output? The grounding of the shielding would be the same in any case.
I am trying to make this as non-intrusive as I can, so the less pices of wire I have running back and forth, the better.
JTM45 RS OT, 1973 18W, JTM45/100, JTM50, JMP50 1986, JMP100 "West Coast", AC15, AC30, BF Super Reverb, Boogie Mk 1, Hiwatt CP103, DR103

User avatar
neikeel
Senior Member
Posts: 7079
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:31 am
Location: Suffolk, England

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by neikeel » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:55 pm

I use the two conductor from the kit but run the wire under the board.
Neil

shakti
Senior Member
Posts: 2029
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:06 am
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Ramnes, Norway

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by shakti » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:47 pm

But do you use just a single piece of two conductor wire?
JTM45 RS OT, 1973 18W, JTM45/100, JTM50, JMP50 1986, JMP100 "West Coast", AC15, AC30, BF Super Reverb, Boogie Mk 1, Hiwatt CP103, DR103

floodstage
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 10:58 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by floodstage » Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:03 pm

Any chance this would work in a Fender Princeton Reverb (hand wired amp, not a PCB board amp)

k9taxi
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:14 am
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by k9taxi » Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:07 pm

I bought this for use in my Mojotone Studio One (1 watt) build. I know exactly where to place it in the signal path. I'll report back when done.

User avatar
alathIN
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:00 am
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by alathIN » Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:23 am

Just ordered a no-loss FX loop and reall
y excited about this product.

I'm in the middle of an amp build and wanted to plan ahead for the FX loop install, so hopefully I don't have to go back and re-do things. I'm building a Trinity TC15 (I did search but didn't find anything in this forum).

My major question is where is the best spot for me to pick up the B+, and will I have to change any "upstream" resistors as is decribed on the Marshall install in the FX loop manual.

This board won't let me post the layout and schematic, but they can be accessed here:
http://www.trinityamps.com/docs/TC15Schematic10.pdf
http://www.trinityamps.com/docs/TC15Layout10.pdf

Very appreciative of any help or suggestions you can share!

Brad H
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:02 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: FX loops coming to Metro.

Post by Brad H » Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:34 am

About to try removing the level switch from the board, and wire in a mini toggle (identical to the one in the kit), to be mounted on the chassis beside the bypass switch. One last request...has anyone else done this? Is this top secret or something? I’ve asked about a dozen times, and nobody has been willing to give the answer except, “oh yea, this is how I build my amps”,...okay, then please share!

Post Reply