High voltage V1 Pin1?

Discuss your builds of MetroAmp Kits.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

Ceeya68
Just the numbers in order: 13492

High voltage V1 Pin1?

Post by Ceeya68 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:14 am

Please se vid link: (https://youtu.be/BlB6O7nDQi4) I have done something wrong or missed something. Amp works but it's real buzzy. Due to the high voltage I would guess. Also when I get the bias set where it needs to be my power tubes start to red plate. I'm so confused. Anybody help, Please!!! I can do more vid if need be. Thanx. P.s. I followed the instructions found on the valvestorm website for a 1969 100 watt metroamp plexi. And yes I'm new to building amps. New hobby I'm tryin to start. I can only get better I hope. That is if I don't blow myself up of burn my house down. Thanx.

danman

Re: High voltage V1 Pin1?

Post by danman » Sat Sep 03, 2016 9:46 pm

Welcome to the forum! We will need some clear, close up pics of all areas of the amp to be able to help. I can't make out from the videos exactly whats going on. What is the jumper wire you have clipped onto the turrets for? When you are taking the voltage measurements in the video, your meter is not reading a high voltage. It appears to be showing a negative (-) voltage or reading a very low voltage. Is your meter set for DC voltage? Are you taking these readings with or without tubes?

First thing we will need is a full set of voltage readings at every socket. Black meter lead should be clipped to ground and set for DC voltage. When checking the heater filament voltages (pins 2 and 7 on power tubes, pins 4/5 and 9 on preamp tubes) your meter will be set to AC. Take these readings without tubes installed and standby switched into playing mode. Please list voltages at all pins on every socket and try to get some pics up when you can and we should be able to get you up and running.

Ceeya68

Post by Ceeya68 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 5:59 pm

Ok will do. Give a couple days. Thanx Much!!

Ceeya68