Hendrix, Speakers and Cabinets

His guitar slung across his back, his dusty boots is his cadillac.

Moderators: VelvetGeorge, BUG

Cheech
Just the numbers in order: 7

Hendrix, Speakers and Cabinets

Post by Cheech » Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:36 pm

I am very new to the larger 4x12 cabinets. I have been wanting one for along time. I talked to Ted Webber a long time ago when I built my JTM45 kit. He recommeneded his 2x12 cabinet and the greenback clones he makes. H and M both mixed.

What type of speakers did Hendrix use in his marshall cabs and how were they setup? How were they setup from the factory? Did he modify them? What would the closest to replicate his speaker resistance and wiring setup.

From Scumbacks website the H model sounds the closest. What do you guys think? I would like to aquire a cabinet and as I get the cash buy the speakers individual. However I am not sure what resistance voice coils to buy or the wiring setup he would have used.

Seems like there is a magnitude of information available about amplifiers but not much on speakers and cabinets. Maybe I am not looking in the right spot.

I would like to use this with my JTM45 but I am wanting to build a 100w amplifier he would have used. I cant decided between JTM45/100, JTM100 lately has been seeming nice, or a 69 spec. Later stuff just seems more in your face. I really like the isle of wright sound in perticualr when he does all along the watchtower.

Thanks
Will

shakti

Re: Hendrix, Speakers and Cabinets

Post by shakti » Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:49 am

I greatly prefer H speakers for Hendrix. He very likely used M speakers on occasion, particularly in the early years, but the Hs give a tighter bass and more cut which is a good thing for Hendrix sounds.