12000 amp build in the UK!

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

shackman
Just the numbers in order: 13492

12000 amp build in the UK!

Post by shackman » Sun May 17, 2015 8:48 am

Well I've been lurking on here for some time reading about all the amp builds going on.

I've built a couple of JTM45's in the past, I am a qualified electronics engineer and used to work for a Amplification factor as the test engineer.

I decided to bite the bullet and build a 12000 series for myself. (I had to sell one of the JTM45's to fund it!)

You would have thought that getting the parts in the UK would be easy, you know being how Marshall built them in the first place, but no.

Michael at Modulus Amps was very helpful, so I could get the chassis and some other parts from him. But the transformers where a different story. Michael told me not to take short cuts on the tx's so it was to email American manufactures the way to go.
Chris at ****** came up trumps and I ordered all the iron from him.

I managed to find a fully populated main board and power board on ebay for decent money and it had Sozo caps on it!

So I had the chassis prepped as much I could and then had to wait of the tx's.

They arrived Friday, so I spent the day putting the amp together. I had read so many build stories on here I did most of it from second sense.

Got the amp working yesterday and could not believe how much gain you get out of a standard circuit!

I don't know if it's the Sozo caps or the resistors used but it's amazing. I used some NOS Marshall Ecc 83's in the preamp with the RED valve on V1 and JJ EL34L valves on the power section.

It sounds amazing, I had to fit a Lar/Mar PPIMV on it to control the power, without that anything above 2 was mad!

I'll get some pics up in the next few days, I want to identify the type of resistors used if I could.

shackman

Re: 12000 amp build in the UK!

Post by shackman » Sun May 17, 2015 1:18 pm

Can anyone recognise these resistors?

Tazin