New (to me) 12000 series. questions

New here? Need help? Don't know where to post? Post here.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

rock213
Just the numbers in order: 13492

New (to me) 12000 series. questions

Post by rock213 » Sun Jun 21, 2015 7:37 am

Hey guys I recently purchased a 12000 series built by Metropolous amps. Just had a few questions that maybe you could answer
1. It has a master volume, does this effect the tone in any way,
- is it out of the circuit when it is completely turned up, I have an attenuator (fryette power station)
- is it easily able to be disconnected, I have no soldering experience btw...

2. Any recommendations for speakers and cabs, right now playing through a mesa cab with 2 chineese greenbacks, and 2 british v30's

3 I took some pics of the inside and was wondering if anybody could tell me if these are nos caps that were used to build the amp, and if they are does it make a difference in sound. My amp is #12089.

there is also an nos mullard in v1, but reissues in the rest including power tubes, is it worth changing them out, I know v1 is most important.

sorry for if these are stupid questions but just wondering, Amp sounds absolutely amazing btw

[img][[IMG]http://i1190.photobucket.com/albums/z44 ... G_0271.jpg[/img]img]

revolver1
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: New (to me) 12000 series. questions

Post by revolver1 » Mon Jun 22, 2015 5:38 am

Nice amp! As for the master volume I can't really answer that one for you as I don't have any experience of one, hopefully someone else can put you right. But one thing before you do any work on the amp make sure you drain the filter caps first. Don't go any where near those big black (filter capacitors) before its drained, they can store deadly voltages.