Screen grid resistor and grid stoppers missing

New here? Need help? Don't know where to post? Post here.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

bahady30
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Screen grid resistor and grid stoppers missing

Post by bahady30 » Mon Oct 26, 2015 4:16 pm

Hello there,

I'm a newbie at this forum and I hope I put this question in the right categorie.I have a Marshall combo JMP 2104 from 1980 . It always had a killer tone but recently a power tube (El34) has gone bad I think...I'm a technician so I opened the amp , drained the filter capacitors , searched for a decent schematic, cleaned the amp because it was a mess with a lot of dust. Cleaned the tube sockets and pins with contact cleaner. One thing I noticed that it was missing the screen grid resistors ( 1K, 5 watt) . I use the unicord incorporated schematic of a jmp 2204 50w master model. It should be the same but the 2104 is the combo version. The amplifier has yugaslavia Siemens El34 and ECC83 tubes in it. Is it nessecary to put in the screen grid resistors in conjunction with modern mass production tubes? What about the 5K6 grid stoppers which I see in a lot of schematics from the eighties? They are not in my amp.....Will this mods will increase stability if power tubes fail? Will it alter the tone? Hope I get some answers because everybody is saying different things and that confuses me. Thanks for the help.

?Mark

Re: Screen grid resistor and grid stoppers missing

Post by ?Mark » Sun Nov 15, 2015 11:38 pm

Strange, no 1k? you sure about that?
The schematic I looked at shows um.

http://www.drtube.com/schematics/marshall/2204u.gif

And yes 5.6k grid stoppers are ALWAYS
a good idea. link to explanation.

http://www.aikenamps.com/index.php/grid ... -they-used

bahady30

Post by bahady30 » Sat Nov 21, 2015 4:55 am