Traynor YBA-1 Help

New here? Need help? Don't know where to post? Post here.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

SSummer
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Traynor YBA-1 Help

Post by SSummer » Sat Feb 18, 2017 4:00 pm

I am a newbie to amp work and got a Traynor YBA-1 1971
I took out the polarity switch since there was already a grounded power cord. There was a .05 620v cap grounding the switch and I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it but now I have loud hum. Was that lowering plate voltage? If I ground the treble pot ground to the chasis with a jumper, the noise in the low range goes away but I still have higher pitched noise/ hum.
What could be the cause of this and how can I solve it?

The other mod I did was add a .68 cap along with the 820 ohm resistor for V2 Cathode to ground like Marshall.(Mid Boost)
Now when I turn up my volume past 6 I get a high pitched squeal. Again what could be causing this? Could it be the same grounding/noise issue?

Help please

danman
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Traynor YBA-1 Help

Post by danman » Mon Feb 20, 2017 4:54 pm