Need Help! 50w kit

New here? Need help? Don't know where to post? Post here.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

micahnix1
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Need Help! 50w kit

Post by micahnix1 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:59 pm

Ive got my 50w kit all assembled and all voltages are correct everywhere, but on channel 1 all I get is a hum when I turn the volume up, and there is a clicking sound almost like a heartbeat. The volume works on channel 2, but I'm getting an awful, unnatural sounding distorted tone.
I'm using classic tone trannies. Everything from PT seems to be in the correct place and grounded properly. Output is purple to 16 ohms, orange to 8 ohms, yellow to 4 ohms. I've fiddled with the impedance switch to make sure it's in the right spot. Just re-wired inputs to make sure they're correct.

Triple checked all connections on top of board and re-soldered any that looked the slighted bit suspect. Is it possible I may have crossed up the wires to the volume pots?

This is my first build, and I feel like I'm so close to having it right, but I'm pretty much out of ideas at the moment.

Any thoughts, suggestions, or places to start checking are greatly appreciated!!

danman

Re: Need Help! 50w kit

Post by danman » Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:39 pm