1977 jmp 50 watt one wire mod help!! PLEASE

New here? Need help? Don't know where to post? Post here.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

pelvisbuster
Just the numbers in order: 13492

1977 jmp 50 watt one wire mod help!! PLEASE

Post by pelvisbuster » Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:08 pm

Hey guys,I'm new here...My name is Ben.. I've just started modding a friends amp,and I've kinda hit a wall :bang:
I have a 1977 non master volume JMP 1987 model 50 watt plexi. I have installed the LAR/MAR MV mod,and Also cascaded the front end. I cant seem to get the bottem end right..like,there isn't a lot of low mids, but still seems like the preamp is getting loaded up. Also,it's really shrill in the high end. If volume one is dimed,it goes into crazy "wow too much fuzzy treble" kind of area.. I can't seem to get the gain I'm looking for without sounding super ugly. Tubes are KT88's and are fresh. Is there help for this thing? Is there cap/resister values that can help with input gain,and still tame the EQ section the right way? I'm trying to get this voiced for a 412 cab loaded with "MADE IN ENGLAND" V30's... I've searched and searched, I can't seam to find a component layout that shows the actual PCB so while looking at the board I can make sure I'm changing the right thing. . That would be such a help. I'm really good at soldering,and very mechanically inclined, however I do not claim to be an amp builder. SO,while I do know what the components are,I don't always know how the react in a circuit. Please help.. :palm:

thanks,
Ben

neikeel

Re: 1977 jmp 50 watt one wire mod help!! PLEASE

Post by neikeel » Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:08 pm

Hi Ben
Welcome.
In my opinion the one-wire mod is pretty much a one trick pony. If you have the first stage as stock 0.68uF/2k7 on the cathode and use 250uF/820R on V1 you will find far too much gain and mess.