Looking for advice on sealing a Modulus phenolic board

New here? Need help? Don't know where to post? Post here.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

ivan H
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Looking for advice on sealing a Modulus phenolic board

Post by ivan H » Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:47 pm

Ok, I am gearing up for a NOS component (Iskra & Piher resistors, Mustard & dogbone caps etc) '69 era 100 watt superlead build. I have a Modulus blank, perforated phenolic board, but am aware that these can absorb moisture unless "sealed" however I am a complete dummy with regard to sealing boards. If anyone can offer advice on what type of sealer to use & tips on application of the sealer it would be greatly appreciated. I would like the board to retain a stock look after sealing. Thanks in advance. Cheers

danman

Re: Looking for advice on sealing a Modulus phenolic board

Post by danman » Mon Feb 25, 2019 7:27 pm

I wasn't aware that these boards had that issue but I have had very little experience with them. I know the old boards that Fender used were notorious for becoming conductive over time. Hopefully Neikeel or one of the other knowledgeable members will see this and chime in.

RockinRocket

Post by RockinRocket » Tue Feb 26, 2019 11:16 am

The Modulous boards I used in the past (bought maybe 14 months ago) are not the best grade material out there for vintage style boards. The Modulous stuff I had ran about 60ma to 100ma but good Electrical grade will have Zero conductivity.

I dont think you can seal the boards.. just store is a dry place.

The boards are ok for a personal build I guess but I would never a amp to someone with Modulous boards.

ivan H

Post by ivan H » Tue Feb 26, 2019 3:28 pm