Blown fuses

Discuss our latest amp kit.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

Post Reply
SerialNumber666
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:19 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Blown fuses

Post by SerialNumber666 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:34 pm

Hi all...this is my first post here. I should note that I am not a builder, which will be apparent when I state my problem. I've had my 100w MV for about 4 months. Just tonight, during band practice, I blew the 1 amp HT fuse. Back when I first got it I blew the mains. I replaced that with a fast acting and all was well. However, now I'm blowing the other one. Any suggestions with what's wrong? Atleast how to trouble shoot it? Any help would be great. Don't want this happening on stage!! Other than that, this is without question the most amazing amplifier I've ever owned or played. Keep up the good work, George!

User avatar
toner
Senior Member
Posts: 2582
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 7:57 pm
Location: Iowa

Re: Blown fuses

Post by toner » Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:09 am

Both fuses should be slow-blow. Fast-acting fuses can sometimes blow even if nothing is wrong with the amp/tubes.

Coot Boy
Senior Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 6:31 am
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Oz

Re: Blown fuses

Post by Coot Boy » Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:33 pm

Also just to add, the first thing to check if blowing the HT fuse would be output tubes. May or may not be the prob but it's the first thing to look at.

User avatar
axeman
Senior Member
Posts: 2412
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:21 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Blown fuses

Post by axeman » Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:38 pm

Your 1 amp fuse should be slow blow. and the next fast blow.

Post Reply