Another 'ultimate marshall' build

Share your home builds, knock offs and ground up customs.
Thiez
Just the numbers in order: 7

Another 'ultimate marshall' build

Post by Thiez » Fri Jun 15, 2012 6:35 am

Since i couldn't find a seperate topic for introducing myself i'll start of by introducing myself here.
I'm Thijs, 23 years old, studied mechanics and electrics and obsessed with music, aswel playing aswel listening to it.
I've build a lot of fx pedals over the time and two years ago i tought it was time for something more challenging. A started building a tubeamp. The amp was an AX84 P1 build, but since it was a learning project for me and i used other transformers etc. i changed a lot of values to make the amp work fine. I studied the book 'building preamps' from mr. blencow. and get the theory quiet good.

SOOOOO, it's time for a new challenge!. And it's gonna be a big one.. Lot's of people build an ultimate marshall in there eyes. So that's why my topic says 'another'. So here's my version of the ultimate marshall:

- plexi normal and bright channel
- extra tube to switch the bright channel into jcm800 (with standard MV to get an even level with the plexi)
- switchable Jose master
- PPIMV
- FXloop

Footswitch that can switch plexi/JCM800 and add the jose master clipping.

I'll put in an extra tube and only using one gainstage of it, so i still have on stage left. Any suggestions? (have to keep in mind that my transformer is a standard 1987 drake.)

I'll start of with a standaard 1987 build (with the added tube and board space etc installed) and if that works i'm gonna put in the next part and test it again.

Thiez

Re: Another 'ultimate marshall' build

Post by Thiez » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:30 pm

Here's the schematic so far.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/19886483/supaplex.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Have to add the relais part etc for switching and the effectloop. Probably gonna add a few screengrids on the powertubes aswell.