Switchable fourth preamp stage on 100 Watt plexi

Share your home builds, knock offs and ground up customs.
JB59MODEL
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Switchable fourth preamp stage on 100 Watt plexi

Post by JB59MODEL » Sat Jan 17, 2015 12:36 pm

Hello fellow amp heads. New to the forum here. Planning to build a 100 watt plexi based on on the Granger chassis. This chassis is already equipped with the punch-out for an extra preamp stage and holes for an external bias pot and test points.
Looking for some advice on how add the fourth preamp stage for the additional gain and make it switchable so that I can run either three stages or four depending on what kind of tone I want, I plan to use classictone transformers, F&T filter caps, and the amp will be modded with an FX loop and PPIMV. I will build the cabinet myself. My background: I have about 20 years experience as tool & die machinist, I have done carpentry work, gunsmithing, and was an instructor at an aviation maintenance school (including basic electricity, so I know the difference between a henry and a microfarad. Once I get my shop set up, I would like to start building cabinets. 100 watt plexi cabs to begin with, and later, perhaps cabs for bluesbreaker combos and 5E3 fender tweeds. I figure after materials and labor I should be able to sell the cabs for about $185, But, all that is down the road somewhat. Any suggestions?http://forum.metroamp.com/posting.php?mode=post&f=7#

bbaug14
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Switchable fourth preamp stage on 100 Watt plexi

Post by bbaug14 » Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:23 pm

Depends. If you just want a switch its not all that complicated. If you want to use relays and a footswitch for on-the-fly switching it gets a bit more tricky.

JB59MODEL

Post by JB59MODEL » Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:41 pm