Voltage problems, help please

Get support and show off your MetroAmp JTM 45 kit builds.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

Hank S

Voltage problems, help please

Post by Hank S » Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:52 am

So I'm not a newbie but I am stuck.

First startup was fine, heaters 3.36 vac and 4.9 vac between pin 2 and 8 on rectifier
Second with GZ34 in and power on stby off, 325 vac to one side of the stby switch and pin 5 on V4 V5 reads -45 vdc
So hear comes the problem:

I put in the 12ax7 and everything is wonky
All these are VDC
V1 1) -0.868 3) 0.017 6) -0.892 -8) 0.017
V2 1) -0.593 3) 0.004 6) -0.915 -8) 0.008
V3 1) 0.914 3) 116 6) 0.002 -8) 116

I, of course, have looked over the instructions and have checked the connections.
The only question mark in my head is the OT wiring because it has just a few different color wires so I have checked and compared Marstran to Metro to correctly wire it up. I think I did it correctly.

Any suggestions as to where to look or ideas as to what these numbers could mean would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
If it's too loud, your too old.

Reeltarded
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Voltage problems, help please

Post by Reeltarded » Tue Apr 03, 2012 4:37 am

Oh no! I have no clue, but you know I am rooting for you, and a simple fix. :rock:

I am going to pretend to know anything and predict a wrong value resistor in the dropping string? :)

Yes? No?
not kicking the dead horse

Hank S

Post by Hank S » Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:20 pm

So I was hoping too that it was the single resistor issue. Need to look longer at layout and amp. There is one issue that folks have which is a the 470k between the two 1 meg resistors. Is it supposed to be the 470 or the 470k? I'll look that one up again.

Hey how's the JMP doing? So many great amps out there and that one has such awesome tone.

hired hand

Post by hired hand » Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:59 pm

Are you saying you have no B+ on the plates of your preamp.?