Two microphones on cab

Techniques for getting your tone to tape.

Moderators: VelvetGeorge, BUG

keano

Two microphones on cab

Post by keano » Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:59 pm

I bought a Sennheiser 906 to try out along my 57. Sound seems bigger when the two are mixed at equal volumes compared to a 57 alone. Seems abit tamer though not as aggressive as the single 57.

Would a ribbon mic be better along a 57 or a 421? And I always hear about phasing.

Too avoid phasing I heard that both mics must be equal distance from the grill is that right?

Can one be on grill and one pulled back say 10" or would that cause phasing. And how do I tell if phasing is happening? I have read that the actual volume would be reduced if there was?

45auto

Post by 45auto » Thu Jul 24, 2008 9:48 am

hey keano, i have limited experience with this as well, but it definitely can open up some improved sounds. this may or may not be the best article on such, but it may help

http://www.homerecordingconnection.com/ ... ory&id=140
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default ... dID=559714" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s62.photobucket.com/albums/h119/ ... t=1980.flv" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

jctaudiodesigns
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Two microphones on cab

Post by jctaudiodesigns » Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:42 am

keano wrote:Would a ribbon mic be better along a 57 or a 421? And I always hear about phasing.
Eddie Kramer (engineer for Jimi Hendrix and Led Zeppelin) said he used a ribbon mic with a U67 to record most of all the Hendrix stuff. I have known several engineers, including myself that have used the Royer 122 to record guitars. I always go back to a SM57 amd MD 421 combo.
keano wrote:Too avoid phasing I heard that both mics must be equal distance from the grill is that right?
Kind of, you also have to take in account the approximate position of the capsules in the mic body.