Another 12xxx New Build

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

PositiveAmplitude
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:22 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Another 12xxx New Build

Post by PositiveAmplitude » Sun Mar 17, 2013 7:30 pm

Hello Gentlemen and Gentlewomen,

I've finally collected enough parts and piece to start in on my 12xxx build...pretty cool so far!

But, as I'm fitting the bits to the chassis I've run into a glitch. The 3-way switch for the virtual variac sits a little cock-eyed. There isn't enough room between the holes for both switches.

Normal? or should I ream one or both of the holes out a bit?

Thanks guys

PositiveAmplitude
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:22 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by PositiveAmplitude » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:00 pm

Trying to post a picture of the two switches in the chassis.Image

User avatar
vanhalen5150
Senior Member
Posts: 7307
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:13 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Halifax, Canada

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by vanhalen5150 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:42 am

The 3 way is sideways. Rotate 90 degrees.
12000 Metro Kit

User avatar
Strat78
Senior Member
Posts: 3093
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:38 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492
Location: though I'm standing still, I'm in a moving place.

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by Strat78 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:19 am

Also consider just going with a regular old standby switch. Simply hard wire the lower taps, because they are closer to what the original 2562's put out anyway. Use a real variac to find the sweet spot. Build another amp like a jtm 45/100 or a 69 if you want more head room and less sag, you will be building more anyway1 :D Keep things pure!

PositiveAmplitude
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:22 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by PositiveAmplitude » Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:49 pm

VanHalen5151 - Thanks for the reply. I thought about just rotating the switch 90 degrees but switching one switch side-to-side would bug me. I used a file on both of the holes so they are oriented the same up/down.

Got them sitting pretty now.

User avatar
vanhalen5150
Senior Member
Posts: 7307
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:13 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Halifax, Canada

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by vanhalen5150 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:41 pm

PositiveAmplitude wrote:VanHalen5151 - Thanks for the reply. I thought about just rotating the switch 90 degrees but switching one switch side-to-side would bug me. I used a file on both of the holes so they are oriented the same up/down.

Got them sitting pretty now.
Ah, I see you dont have a 12000 chassis. :scratch:
12000 Metro Kit

User avatar
vanhalen5150
Senior Member
Posts: 7307
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:13 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Halifax, Canada

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by vanhalen5150 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:48 pm

Move the 3 way switch to the indicator lamp and put the indicator lamp in between the 2.
12000 Metro Kit

User avatar
vanhalen5150
Senior Member
Posts: 7307
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 3:13 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Halifax, Canada

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by vanhalen5150 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:53 pm

You could ream each one out a bit on the outside edges, and use the large nuts on the front. That would probably give you enough room.
12000 Metro Kit

emmjaydubya
Senior Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:51 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Austin

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by emmjaydubya » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:45 pm

vanhalen5150 wrote:Ah, I see you dont have a 12000 chassis. :scratch:
That's the first thing that popped in my head when I saw the pic, no Metro chassis. :bang:

User avatar
neikeel
Senior Member
Posts: 7217
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:31 am
Location: Suffolk, England

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by neikeel » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:50 pm

emmjaydubya wrote:
vanhalen5150 wrote:Ah, I see you dont have a 12000 chassis. :scratch:
That's the first thing that popped in my head when I saw the pic, no Metro chassis. :bang:
Actually the same thing cropped up on my metro chassis when I did the dual voltage thing :wink:
Easy to remedy, just make each hole very slightly oval away from each other - only a mm or so on each one so that neither hole is too wide to be covered by the dress nut.

Of course if you are a genuine EVH nut then you have to have the variac, but for me the virtual variac is a useful addition. 8)
Neil

emmjaydubya
Senior Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:51 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Austin

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by emmjaydubya » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:17 pm

Didn't realize that was an issue, I guess George has to do the same thing?

PositiveAmplitude
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:22 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by PositiveAmplitude » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:08 pm

Ok, here's a picture of my 12xxx Metro Chassis with Virtual Variac switch. I had to reem out the holes a bit, but it worked out fine.
Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

PositiveAmplitude
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:22 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by PositiveAmplitude » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:12 pm

Here's an interior shot. Let me know if you spot something that's gonna cause me trouble later.Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

emmjaydubya
Senior Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:51 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Austin

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by emmjaydubya » Mon Mar 18, 2013 8:56 pm

Good start! What kind of transformers are you using?

PositiveAmplitude
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:22 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Another 12xxx New Build

Post by PositiveAmplitude » Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:19 pm

I'm waiting on Chris ****** to get his steel so he can make a couple Dagnall transformers for me. I just mounted a 7H choke from Heyboer so at least I've got that.

The good thing is I have some time to think about what I want out of the amp.

Judging from the various dates on this forum I know many of you have had some time with these amps. Starting fresh, what is the best way to go about a Master Volume mod?

Post Reply