Older Kit question. Plexi 100wtt

Replica amps built by George Metropoulos himself. Visit PlexiReplicas.com.

Moderator: VelvetGeorge

sct13
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Older Kit question. Plexi 100wtt

Post by sct13 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:25 pm

Hello everyone I was lucky enough to stumble on an unbuilt kit from around 2008, It is a 100 wtt Plexi replica. I am a novice amp "builder" but have a pretty extensive background in electronics, mostly from my aviation days way back when.

Well I put this thing together in about seven days and I am pretty proud of it......except......My voltages are a bit screwy...

It has the Mercury Magnetic s upgrade Transformers, and there are a few things that are not quite right.

V1 pin one has a voltage of close to 300VDC, :scratch: The heaters are right at 3.25 VAC and V1 does not get warm like the others, The voltages at the power tubes are about 458VDC, and the Bias is -45 when I follow the instructions.
I have swapped out different tubes same story. I don't leave it on long because of this errant voltage.

There is a hiss from the speaker. I am going to to rewire the tube socket. And see from there

I have video snippets of this build on you tube here; http://www.youtube.com/user/emergencynu ... ature=mhee" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Not much to glean off, just me gloating, but you can see that its a clean build, I think I followed the instructions exactly.

Any help would be appreciated, I can tell that this thing will be a tone monster, once I get it sorted.

I am beginning the think its supply..... :bang:

Thanx Vic

sct13

Re: Older Kit question. Plexi 100wtt

Post by sct13 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:00 pm

Never mind, its fixed....what good is an amp builder that can't troubleshoot his own mess?

It was a wire that had some of it plastic insulation interfering with the pin. Sounds amazing!