Slaving a Plexi Project

For all things to build the brown sound

Moderators: VelvetGeorge, RACKSYSTEMS

Post Reply
mean_street
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:59 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by mean_street » Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:39 am

I sold my Matrix, too. I felt that it was changing a the mids a little bit. The thing is my old, cheap PA power amp sounds better in a Slaving setup but has not enough power and is heavy, so I'm looking for a linear light weight power amp in the moment. I don't want a tube power amp because those that I tried coloured the sound too much.

budubum92
Senior Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:34 am
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by budubum92 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:08 pm

Hi

Id like to try slaving but not sure my setupbwould work.


What i have is a plexi marshall, 4x12 cab and a weber mini mass 50.

What id need to get is a solidstate power amp like the marshall valvestate power amp.

My idea is, from the marshalls speaker output to the mini mass 50 attenuator's input. Then hook a small 1x12 cab from the mini mass 50 output just to be on a safeside loading the amp correctly.

Id also set the mini mass to low level as possible and it aint gonna be all quiet but atleast low signal from the 1x12.


From the mini mass line out jack to the input of the marshall valvestate poweramp. From power amp to the 4x12 and mic that 4x12 up.

Would this thing work?


Can i control the over all volume from the 4x12 by using the power amps volume control.

If the 1x12 is still annoyingly loud even in lowest settings of mini mass, i could cover that up with pillows and such.

eljodon
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:16 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by eljodon » Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:07 pm

It could work, but it would be much better if you get the Suhr Reactive load so you don't have to use the 1 x 12 cabinet as a load. I'm not familiar with the Weber mini mass 50 but some units have a low pass filter on the line out which would make your amp sound dark. Since a typical Marshall cab with Celestion only goes up to 5 or 6Khz it actually acts like a "lowpass filter" I use an RJM mini mixer and eq before going into the power amp. The eq gives you options to tailor your tone depending on how loud you're playing or what type of tone you want
You could also split the signal to ad effects if you have a mixer. I run one Marshall 1960B cabinet in stereo or 2
Suhr PT100SE ,Metro/Friedman 68' Plexi, ,Friedman BE100,EVH 5150iiiS,Fender Vibrolux 68'/Alessandro,VoxAC30,Kemper

Ian1eh
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:17 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by Ian1eh » Wed Mar 11, 2020 11:49 am

[/quote] I own both Suhr Reactive Load and Fryette Powerstation and they're both very useful. I use an eq after the Suhr Reactive Load to tame the top end and tighten the low end. The Powerstation is great if being used with it's own power amp but not so well as just a load. The Suhr Reactive Load sounds great with many amps but you'l have to slightly cut- 1db of 2k or 4k and up with an eq to tame down the high frequencies. It's much more natural to cut than to add in my opinion. I'm using the Suhr Reactive Load with an Ampete 444 amp switcher slaving 4 different amps and I'm using an RJM mini Gizmo with 5 loops with different eq curves(3 different eq units) for different tones and to match the amp I'm using. it sounds great! I'm using a Mesa Boogie 2 90 as the power amp.
[/quote]

Hi Guys!

I am slaving my amps through my Suhr RL, sending that line-level signal into my rack mixer (i.e., with Eventide rack FX), and then into a VHT 2/50.2 power amp and GB-loaded cabs.

It sounds great to me! :)

But here is my question......I read about people using an external EQ to tweak the highs a bit.....but I'm not sure why they do this, if that signal is eventually hitting guitar speakers....the speakers are essentially a filter....

Just curious....

Thanks!
Ian

Blix
Senior Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:42 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by Blix » Wed Mar 11, 2020 1:11 pm

A speaker is a fixed filter, and an eq before the power amp gives you the option of shaping the tone more.

eljodon
Senior Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:16 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by eljodon » Sat Mar 14, 2020 11:16 pm

Hi Guys!

I am slaving my amps through my Suhr RL, sending that line-level signal into my rack mixer (i.e., with Eventide rack FX), and then into a VHT 2/50.2 power amp and GB-loaded cabs.

It sounds great to me! :)

But here is my question......I read about people using an external EQ to tweak the highs a bit.....but I'm not sure why they do this, if that signal is eventually hitting guitar speakers....the speakers are essentially a filter....

Just curious....

Thanks!
Ian
[/quote]
I use the eq because I like to have control of the amp post distortion. If you use your rig for gigs, it would help you shape your tone depending on the acoustics of the place. It also helps if you’re using someone else’s cabinet like when you go to a rehearsal that supplies the cabinets. The speaker is a filter that only cuts anything above 5-6k.Some speakers have too much 4K, 2k or other frequencies that you might not have control by just using you’re amp’s tone control.
Suhr PT100SE ,Metro/Friedman 68' Plexi, ,Friedman BE100,EVH 5150iiiS,Fender Vibrolux 68'/Alessandro,VoxAC30,Kemper

Ian1eh
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:17 pm
Just the numbers in order: 7

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by Ian1eh » Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:15 pm

Hi Guys,

I slave my amp into a Suhr Reactive Load, and send tvat line level signal into my FX, and into a VHT power amp.

I have read on this board that some guys slave their amp, and instead of running a line level signal into a separate power amp, they run the speaker output of the slaved head into the input of a second amp......

Why do they use this approach vs sending a line level signal to a stereo power amp?

Is their a sonic benefit associated with running into the front end of an amp?

Thanks!

mean_street
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:59 pm
Just the numbers in order: 13492

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by mean_street » Tue Mar 24, 2020 4:31 am

I recorded this EP with my old band some years ago using my slave setup. Maybe not the tightest performance, but you get the idea.

Setup was: Les Paul with Bareknuckle Mule -> ClinchFx Ep-Pre -> Marshall 1959 HW with some upgrades -> Suhr RL ->
Matrix Gt1000fx -> Marshall 1960 cab with G12M Blackbacks -> Blend of Sm57 and Sm7 Mics

https://wearepleasantnightmare.bandcamp.com/

User avatar
paulscape
Senior Member
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 12:51 am
Just the numbers in order: 7
Location: in front of amp

Re: Slaving a Plexi Project

Post by paulscape » Tue Mar 31, 2020 4:31 am

Ian1eh wrote:
Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:15 pm
Is their a sonic benefit associated with running into the front end of an amp?

Thanks!
The 1st amp is like a distortion box in front of the 2nd amp so extra gain and compression structure are potential benefits. I've only played around with slaving a few times but prefer straight into 1 head with all effects in front, except reverb, that can be added in DAW or FOH.
Eat 'em and smile

Post Reply